Farm Fresh

Wow! I meant to get back to my posts as soon as we returned from our Labor Day weekend trip, but time just got away from me! I am so sorry!! I am not sure why it always takes so long to get back to your normal rhythm after vacation!? (It seems even harder with a child…) Well, here is my next post, I hope you all enjoy!

In my opinion, nothing beats fresh fruits & veggies straight from the farm!! Not only do they taste better, they are more nutritious that way (because they are so fresh!). There are many reasons they are more nutritious for you, they are super fresh, so they are at their peak for nutritiousness; they have less pesticides because the goods are local and do not need to travel far; some are USDA Organic; and some do not use pesticides, but did not get the USDA Organic certification. Of course not everyone can be a farmer, but most of us can visit our local Farmer’s Market! Another option is to join a local CSA!

Do you know what a CSA is? CSA stands for Community Supported Agriculture. Many of those farmers at your local Farmer’s Market may offer a CSA membership. They can be quite pricey and your weekly fresh food variety & quantity varies from week-to-week. If you are a veggie lover, you can probably use them all, but if you are a picky veggie eater, it may be hard to use everything. My parents belong to a local CSA, we alternate (between my parents, my brother & sister-in-law, and me) who picks up the veggies each week. It works out nicely, because between our three families, someone usually eats what veggies we get. This was my most recent pick-up!

Farm Veggies

Farm Veggies

The CSA we belong to is Stone Coop Farm, they are out of Hamburg Township, MI. If you are local to that area, you have probably seen them at the Brighton Farmer’s Market. If the idea of joining a CSA sounds good to you,  you can search for a local one here. Some CSA’s offer a local drop-off in your area, at Stone Coop Farm, we have a time & day to go to the farm and pick our veggies up. This year they have been offering organic eggs, which are amazing! The quantities are limited, so they ask that you order ahead of your pick-up day & time to ensure you get some.

Eating lots of fresh fruits and veggies is important to me & my family. I try to buy organic whenever possible (more on that later), and try to make sure the hubby & Bubs get their suggested servings each day!

Do any of you belong to a CSA?

2 thoughts on “Farm Fresh

  1. Pingback: Farm Fresh – revisited | GreenLooksGoodOnEveryone

Leave a Reply

