Homemade Bread Part II

Last week I attempted to make homemade Honey Oat Bread. It didn’t turn out exactly as planned (you can read about it here). This week I decided to try again, and this time with brand new yeast.

I didn’t take as many pictures this time, since all the steps were the same as the first attempt.

DSCN0289

Dry Ingredients

Once all the ingredients were combined, and the dough was formed, I placed it in the bowl to rise.

Dough Before

Dough Before

Dough After 30 min

Dough After 30 min

DSCN0294

Dough After 30 min

YAY!!! It actually looks like it doubled this time!!! I guess using expired yeast does matter! 🙂

Bread Pan Before

Bread Pan Before

Bread Pan After 30 min

Bread Pan After 30 min

Yay!!! It rose again, just like it was supposed to!! Things are looking up…. time to pop this baby in the oven!

DSCN0298

Bursting out of the bread pan!

DSCN0299

It turned out PERFECT!!! Look how large the loaf is this time??

DSCN0301

I am ready for my taste test!!!

YUM!

YUM!

The bread is AMAZING!! (Not that it didn’t taste good the first time) My first attempt created a very dense, doughy bread, this time it is so much lighter!

Ok, so I learned that the expiration date on yeast is no joke there for a reason! I think I will still be purchasing metal bread pans, as the bread was still slightly doughy on the bottom in the center, and I think I could fix that by using a metal pan. I’ll keep you posted! I plan to make more later this week for Labor Day weekend!!

Do you have any baking tips or tricks to share?

Leave a Reply

