Homemade Bread

I am always looking for recipes that are easy and healthy. I am obsessed in love with Pinterest, i’ve been busy pinning recipes that are easy to make at home AND use whole foods, not chemical-filled, processed foods. So when I found this bread recipe, I was dying to try it out!

Of course, I’ve never made bread from scratch before, so this really was a learning experience. I FINALLY had time to try it out today while Bubba was napping! Here goes nothing…

DSC_1654I’ve read that this is the BEST flour to use and it comes in ORGANIC (even better)!

I got all my supplies ready…

DSC_1655

Totally off subject, but the bowls with the blue stripe on them were my moms, she gave them to me when the hubby and I bought our house. I’ve always LOVED them and I just found out they were actually my great-grandma’s! Anyway, back to the bread…

DSC_1657(I’m new to this whole “food photography” thing, but I really like this picture.)

DSC_1660

DSC_1661I am a little obsessed with my Kitchen Aid mixer, I love when recipes call for it’s use!!

dough, before it rises

dough, before it rises

The next step says to let the dough rise for 30 min-1 hour, covered.

DSC_1669

Ok, so I waited 30 min, and the dough looked no different, so I waited some more… then Bubs woke up from his nap… so the dough actually had about 1 hour and 45 min to rise.

DSC_1670

I am not sure it looks much different than the before picture, do you? I moved on anyways, I figured if it hadn’t risen yet, it wasn’t going to!

DSC_1671Now that the bread is in the bread pan, I let it sit (per the recipe) for 45 min… it was supposed to rise again.. if it did, it wasn’t much… again, I moved on!

DSC_1672It looks pretty good, doesn’t it? It smells AMAZING, actually it has made the entire house smell AMAZING!!

Taste-test time! I could barely wait for it to cool, I was so excited to try it (not to mention my mouth had been watering since it was baking!).

DSC_1675As you can probably tell, it isn’t as large as the original recipe, I am not sure it even looks like a slice of bread!? I have no idea what caused the issues, maybe the fact that the yeast expired a week ago (oops!)? Or maybe because I used a silicone bread pan? Or maybe because its hot outside, so I have the A/C on, so very little humidity in the house? I have a feeling it might have been all of those reasons, but oh well, it still tasted GREAT! I am going to try it again later this week, hopefully I will get better results!!

Any recipes that you have found on Pinterest that haven’t turned out as well as you had hoped?

3 thoughts on “Homemade Bread

  1. All my homemade bread recipes say to let it rise in a warm oven with a bowl of water on the bottom rack. This helps give the dough the warmth and humidity it needs to rise. However, sometimes you can do everything right and it still doesn’t turn out quite right, but always seems to taste good right out of the oven anyway! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Homemade Bread Part II | GreenLooksGoodOnEveryone

Leave a Reply

