Planning for a Green Baby – Nursery Wall Decor

Hello again,

Like I promised, I am trying to keep up on my posts!!

When it came to decorating the walls in the nursery, I wanted to do it myself! The hubby didn’t want a “Baby-ish” decor, and he didn’t like the wall decals, so I got creative! We decided to do shapes, colors and numbers, that didn’t scream “BABY”, but still showed that it was a kids room. I made three canvases, one with letters, one with shapes and one with numbers. I bought 10 x 10 canvas wrapped frames, I then picked fabric I thought would complement the nursery and wrapped the fabric around the frames, using a staple gun, I stapled the fabric on. I then used my Cricut cutter to cut the letters “A”, “B”, “C”, numbers “1”, “2”, “3” and a square, triangle, star and heart. I then made the cutouts into stickers, then stuck them on the fabric.

ABC Wall Decor 123 Wall Decor

After getting them placed right where I wanted them, I went outside and spray painted the whole canvas. After 2 coats of spray paint (and about a weeks time, since I had to spray paint “weather permitting”), I pealed off the cutouts, and this is what I got!

123 ABC Wall Decor

I have them hanging above the changing table/dresser. Originally I had them hanging pretty low, so Bubba could see them from his changing pad. As he has gotten older & bigger he has realized he can reach them AND knock them off the wall…. so they had to be re-hung at a higher level!!

DSC_1286

For above the crib I wanted to add Austin’s name, I wasn’t quite sure how I wanted to do it while pregnant and couldn’t ask anyone for ideas either, because we didn’t share his name until he was born! I knew I wanted to use fabric. I had a bunch of scraps left over from a baby quilt I made a friend, and they happened to match Austin’s nursery perfectly! This is what I came up with…

DSC_1278I bought plain letters at Hobby Lobby and painted them white (with non-toxic white paint), I bought 6 10×10 canvases at Hobby Lobby, used my scrap fabric to cover them, stapled them using a staple gun, then glued the letters onto the fabric (Again, with non-toxic craft glue). I was originally worried that the letters might come off, but I couldn’t even pull them off after the glue dried! I think it turned out great, and my husband LOVED the outcome! (Always a plus!)

For the corner of the room with the rocking chair, I wanted to make a “library” of kids books.  One reason was for decoration, and the other was for use! We have books that were ours as kids and books that people bought us for Austin! I found these awesome shelves at Ikea (after looking EVERYWHERE else first…)… Ikea RIBBA, I bought 3 and had my dad hang them (since by that point, I didn’t need to be climbing a ladder!)

DSC_1276I wanted to add something to the other side of the window, just some small simple shelves for knick-knacks. I had a hard time finding corner shelves that were small enough for the space, but eventually found them at Home Depot! I think they look great, and add a little extra storage space.

DSC_1277

I had so much fun designing the wall decor for this room!

Is there a room in your home that you spent extra time & attention designing?

Leave a Reply

