Planning for a Green Baby – Nursery Furniture

Well… I am back, my one week vacation in Florida turned into a month long vacation from my blog, I am sorry!

I would like to continue on talking about my Green Nursery. This post will speak to all the furniture we bought, and I so diligently researched!

I wanted white furniture, and since the husband got to pick the wall color, I got to pick the furniture.

Let’s start with the most important piece of a baby’s nursery, the crib! I did a lot of research on white cribs, especially since they have been recalled in the past due to harmful chemicals in the white paint. I found our crib on Amazon, but eventually ordered it from Target. The crib is a DaVinci Kalani and is made of wood from a sustainable forest in New Zealand. This is what DaVinci has to say about themselves “At DaVinci, we build not just clean, non-toxic nurseries but green, non-toxic worlds. That’s why environmental sustainability and energy efficiency are DaVinci family values.” I, of course, LOVED that I found a crib manufacturer that believed in the same things as me!

crib

Next most important piece of furniture… the rocking chair! Since our room is small, I wanted a rocking chair that had a fold out footstool. One that could easily be “folded in” so that I wouldn’t trip over it! I found this great chair at Buy Buy Baby. The color choices were great, as well as the fabric choices. I chose a dark chocolate brown microfiber, for three reasons, 1) It matched my theme for the nursery, 2) Microfiber doesn’t stain easily and, 3) After we are done with it in the nursery it will match our family room furniture! The chair wasn’t cheap, but knowing it will work in another room in our house made the purchase seem more “reasonable”. The company that makes the chair is out of Indiana, so Made in the USA!!

Nursery Chair

Nursery Chair

Next item of importance, a dresser/changing table. I wanted to purchase a dresser that my child would be able to use well past the diaper age, so I chose a simple, white dresser from Ikea. Ikea believes in sustainability and makes less expensive, solid furniture. Since we already owned a dresser from Ikea that we loved, we just purchased it in white for the nursery. This is the Ikea Hemnes dresser, in white. I did change the knobs to match the door handles and curtain hardware already in the nursery. I placed a changing pad on top of the dresser, the dresser is a great height for diaper changing, and since it is a long dresser, I have plenty of room for a basket of diapers, wipes, creams, etc. as well as a small light!

Ikea Dresser

Ikea Dresser

As for the closet, I chose two Ikea Expedit shelves. I have both standing upright in the closet, with chocolate brown bins in them. Once Bubba is a little older, I will pull them out of the closet and we will use them as benches to store his toys! I love that these have a duel function from the start! We also installed a rubbermaid closet organizer, with 2 shelves and 2 hanging rods. That way there is room for hanging clothes, and extra storage for diapers & toys on the shelves!

DSC_1266 DSC_1269

I hope you are all enjoying my Planning for a Green Baby posts!

When you buy furniture, do you make an effort to buy green? Or Made in the USA?

2 thoughts on “Planning for a Green Baby – Nursery Furniture

Leave a Reply

