Creative Ways to Reuse an Everyday Piece of “Trash”

Do you know what this is?

tp roll

I think it is safe to say most people over the age of 3 know what this is! An empty toilet paper roll, of course!

How many of these do you go through in your house in a day? Week? Or your office? If you sit and think about it, its amazing how many of these little rolls are used each day, and then, gasp!, tossed in the trash! Personally, we recycle ours, but thats at home, I am sure they are tossed at work. I have even considered taking them home from the office to recycle (I know… I am a bit of a green freak!), but I don’t know how to get them off the holder! Sounds like a ridiculous problem, but it has some sort of lock on it, which, apparently you can use a paper clip to unlock? I don’t get it!

Anyway… back to the toilet paper roll! There are MANY ways to keep these out of the landfills! Of course, you can recycle them, like we do here, or you can make art with them? Really?? If you haven’t jumped on the Pinterest bandwagon, do it now! It is amazing, and I am a bit obsessed! I have found so many amazing ideas for reusing household items, but more on that later, lets focus on the toilet paper roll.

Here are just a few of the amazing things you can do with this little cardboard roll…

tp wreath

tp star

tp flower

Wrought Iron tp

tp wrappingI use this one, it works great! Just use strong tape, or the TP rolls spring off the wrapping paper rolls!

I started saving rolls, creating a stock-pile, so I could try out the wrought iron design… but Scott threw them in the recycling bin. He doesn’t always “get” my creative ideas, he likes to throw everything away (or in the recycling), but more on that later!

As you can see, the ideas are endless! Who would have known that you could use such a boring, mundane, everyday piece of “trash” to create such cool things?!

Have you tried any of these designs? Or do you have another way you reuse them in your house??

One thought on “Creative Ways to Reuse an Everyday Piece of “Trash”

  1. I have never re-used toilet paper rolls for anything, but I have re-used a paper towel roll to make a wedding rehearsal bouquet for my friend. I wrapped the paper towel roll in ribbon, and made flowers with the ribbons from the Bridal Shower gifts. It was a big hit!

Leave a Reply

