Planning for a Green Baby

My husband and I welcomed our first child this past June, and while we planned for his arrival, we worked hard to create an eco-friendly home for him. While trying to navigate through all of the green baby information on the web, I came across an amazing book, Going Green With Baby, by: Jennifer Lo Prete & Melissa Moog. This book breaks down all the areas you can “Go Green with Baby” and how to go about it. I found the book extremely helpful, and would highly recommend it to anyone considering eco-friendly options for their child. Jennifer & Melissa basically did all the research for you, so you just have to read their book, and if you want more information on a specific area, they tell you where to go to get it! I learned quite a bit from the book about different organic materials and products, which helped inform my decision of where to focus my “green” energy!

From reading the book and conducting my own research, it became clear that the most important area to go green with our baby was in the nursery. So our main focus was on the room, its furnishings, linens, and decorations. When we filled out our registry, we focused on organic bedding, organic sleepers, organic stuffed animals, and organic toys, when possible. The problem with focusing solely on organic pieces, was that we were limiting our selection, limiting the availability of the products, and asking our family and friends to spend a lot of money. The majority of organic clothing & toys are online-only, and cost a lot of green.

When we came across items we liked that were not “registry friendly” we  bought them ourselves. I found a deal on the brand of baby skin care products that I wanted (and had researched on EWG’s Skin Deep page), so I bought them. I planed to to use only cloth diapers, so, if I found a deal, I bought a few (the husband didn’t like that plan, so we had to do some compromising, but more on that later!). When I found a deal on a cute organic outfit, I bought it. Between our baby showers, and our slow accumulation of products, the green nursery was coming along!

What areas of your house are most important to you to be green? Have you found any green resources that have helped in your quest for a green product, room, house, etc?

2 thoughts on “Planning for a Green Baby

  1. Currently, the most frequent “green” thing I do is recycle. I do use white vinegar and/or baking soda as cleaning products occasionally, but I really need to do more research in this area and see which “green” products I like best and start using them. I do use a lot of Aveda products for hair and skin care and I just bought two bottles of vegan nail polish, so I suppose that counts too right?

  2. Pingback: Planning for a Green Baby – Nursery Floors « GreenLooksGoodOnEveryone

Leave a Reply

